Choices…

choice

Decisions

The process of deciding on my 20% project has not been easy.  I actually want to complete all of my proposed tasks within the next few months.  I notice that three of my seven proposed projects revolve around fitness (yoga, eating healthier and walking regularly); two are about reading and writing (book club and creative writing), and two are connected to professional development (the pursuit of a master’s degree and teaching in China).  My thought is that to be a truly well-rounded individual, I should pursue all of these areas of growth, physical, mental and professional. I don’t think it would be possible to do a 20% project on all 7 and do them well.  I often have a hard time focusing my attention in one particular area and often overextend myself.  It seems that I might have a tendency to do the same with this project.

Walking Plan

I have decided to dedicate myself to fitness walking for my 20% project.  My goal is to walk a minimum of 8-10 miles per week.  I plan to walk 4-5 days per week for 2 miles per day.  My current pace is fairly slow at 22 minutes per mile.  I would like to increase my pace to 17-18 minutes per mile while increasing my distance.

walking
Photo Source:  www.activenorthtyneside.org

In order to motivate myself and avoid procrastination, I plan to bring my walking clothes to school and walk through the neighborhood.  I find that if I wait to exercise until I get home, it just doesn’t happen.  I propose getting on the “road” by 3:00 on Monday-Friday.  I could also walk on the weekend at the beach or try a different venue each week, just for fun.  I will be using a phone app called Map My Walk, that will track my route, pace, distance and calories burned.  The calories aren’t as important to me as pace and distance.  My increased pace and distance will be a measurement of my fitness.

A holistic approach to fitness is the best solution to improve health and wellness.  Walking will allow me to focus on physical fitness through weight loss and muscle tone; and, mental and emotional wellness through the stress relief provided by walking.  I’m excited about embarking on this ambulatory adventure.

 

 

One thought on “Choices…

  1. I like your idea about making your goal a part of your day rather than waiting until you get home. I love your quote about choices. I am a fan of the Harry Potter series. My favorite quote from all of the books comes from Albus Dumbledore – “It is our choices that show who we truly are, far more than our abilities.”

    Like

Leave a comment